Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

The Meatball Shop

with 4 comments

Last night, as the flurries began to whirl in NYC, I dragged a friend to the grand opening of The Meatball Shop, a restaurant on Stanton btw. Allan and Orchard that specializes in (surprise) meatballs.  The restaurant feels like the dining deal of the Lower East Side.  Greenwich Village has $2 Mamoon’s falafels on McDougal street, Alphabet City has $3 tacos at Snack Dragon (the quinoa is my fav), and now the LES has $3 meatball sliders.   I only heard about the restaurant’s opening on Monday morning but in just two days I probably read four reviews, including two write-ups in the NYTimes, one in Eater, and one in NYMag.  

And thus was born the idea for the Meatball Shop: a counter-service operation with a build-your-own-meal menu, featuring five kinds of two-ounce, house-ground balls (plus a weekly special), various sauces, and a range of options (slider flights, heroes, pastas, and sides). As befits a chef who’s worked at San Francisco’s Campton Place and SPQR (whose sister restaurant, A16, is known for its Meatball Mondays, incidentally), ingredients are well-sourced, including beef from Creekstone Farms and prosciutto from La Quercia. The look is Olde New York, with reclaimed wood and antique milk bottles. Chernow’s wife makes ice-cream sandwiches. The cumulative effect: a retro vibe for a thoroughly modern meatball (84 Stanton St., nr. Allen St.; 212-982-8895).

Read more: New York Restaurant Openings – Meatball Shop Opens on the Lower East Side — New York Magazine http://nymag.com/restaurants/openings/63650/#ixzz0f98YEN1c

Pictures courtesy of the NYTimes and NYMag

The menus double as the ordering sheet; you check off the type of meatball (beef, spicy pork, salmon, veggie, etc.), the sauce (tomato, parm cream, mushroom, spicy meat), a side dish (polenta, mashed potatoes, braised kale, market salad, etc.), and if you’re getting dessert, your cookie type and ice cream flavor for the ice cream sandwich.

I ordered: 1 beef meatball slider (served on a brioche bun) with tomato sauce (the winner!) and 1 pork meatball slider with spicy tomato sauce.  I actually really disliked the pork meatball, but my date, Ty, loved it so…I guess you have to try the different ones to see which you like.  We shared a side of braised kale and split two ice cream sandwiches: one with brownie cookies and espresso ice cream and one with chocolate chip cookies and mint ice cream. The mint ice cream was hands down my favorite part of the meal – I could taste the fresh mint leaves.  While I want to say the meal was absolutely perfect, my sliders were a little under sauced and a little cold.  But in their defense, it was opening night and I think I wanted piping hot meatballs because I had just walked through flurries to get there.  Next time I go back I will forgo the sliders and try the 4 beef meatballs in a bowl with tomato sauce and focaccia and will definitely get the mint ice cream.

Written by doorr

February 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If I weren’t bedridden with a mean case of food poisoning caused by chicken, I would be hitting that place up (or you could Fed-Ex me some).

    Abby

    February 10, 2010 at 10:49 am

  2. OMG YUM! i HAVE to go there.

    kristen

    February 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm

  3. saw you both on today show march28,2011 would like recipe for meatball makeovers sauce thanks

    sandy tolley

    March 29, 2011 at 10:56 am


Leave a Reply

