Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

Irish Things I Love

leave a comment »

Yes, I know I’m a week too early for this post, but I’m allowed to do whatever I want now that I’ve already celebrated St. Patty’s Day (in Hoboken last weekend-which, by the way, I’ll never do again).  Two of my favorite Irish delights are: Kerrygold Pure Irish Butter and McCanns’s Irish Oatmeal

The butter, sold at most supermarkets and definitely at Whole Foods, is by far the richest, silkiest butter I’ve ever had.  When a friend had a few of us over for dinner one night, she put out this butter, a bowl of fleur de sel, and a loaf of delicious white bread from Bouley Bakery & Market.  It was heaven.  If you are having a dinner party, fool your guests into thinking you are an amazing chef by feeding them this butter and placing it on everything. 

This oatmeal (albeit the quick oats version) was once a go-to of mine for a fast, tasty breakfast.  It’s perfect with whole milk and lots (probably too much) brown sugar.  The metal tin also looks pretty…not that one should ever buy food because it ‘displays well.’

Written by doorr

March 10, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Posted in Food, Holidays

Leave a Reply

