Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

Tacos-R-Us

leave a comment »

Today both the New York Times and New York Magazine (my two favorite publications) posted articles about tacos.  Since I am that unoriginal and since I post recipes on Wednesday I’m posting the pictures, article links, and recipe right below (so take that David).   And since I never ever make tacos on my own (and since I suspect my dear readers don’t whip up tacos themselves either), I’m shining a spotlight on the whole damn taco community in New York City.  Or at least the ones on my radar.

Snack Dragon Taco Shack is a-maz-ing.  Located on 3rd and B in Alphabet City, I discovered this joint (literally I would call it a “joint”) while seeing an Electric Pear production at the theatre next door.  The tacos are tiny and filled with lime, avocado, pico de gallo, and cheese, on top of a tasty base of quinoa, fish, or steak.  One warning: don’t show up at exactly 4pm when the shack supposedly opens or else you’ll look like an amateur (like I obviously did).  Give it an hour and bring cash.  Or better yet, make it a late night stop on your way home.

Pinche Taqueria on Mott btw. Spring and Prince is also another cheap delight in New York City.  After walking around Soho on a sunny Saturday, popping into Pinche for a taco to tide you over until dinner is the perfect treat.  I’ve only ordered the vegetarian taco from there, but I loved it and definitely thought it was better than La Esquina-a nearby neighbor/competitor.  Everyone was also chowing down on grilled corn on the cob with some sort of spicy mayo that looked creamy and delicious. 

La Esquina Taqueria and Cafe gets a little check mark from NYMag though I’m not quite sure why.  It’s tasty but nothing to write home about-especially when you have Pinche so close by.  I ordered a steak taco and a vegetarian taco (which was basically 4 avocado slices and queso fresco).  It was fine but…I would recommend ordering the other items on the menu rather than their tacos.  One of my friends raves about their tomatillo-avocado soup.

April’s homemade recipe for tacos:

Here, I wanted to re-create what my chef’s dream of those tacos would be, and that’s the barbecue-beef tacos. The lettuce and tomatoes were replaced with the pico de gallo, and instead of the Cheddar it used to be, it’s now a really great Mexican queso fresco very delicately sprinkled on top. The meat is a beef chuck roll, which is boiled with onions and celery, garlic, herbs. Once it’s boiled we shred it, and then every night we mix it in with the barbecue sauce. We make the barbecue sauce here; it’s super simple: ketchup, apple-cider vinegar, chipotle chilies, a little bit of brown sugar, a little bit of aromatics like cinnamon. The tacos are like three inches long, as big as your little pointer finger, and it’s a one- or two-bite thing. You always have in every bite the perfect amount of crunch, a great textural difference with the sweet, savory, slightly smoky meat.”

NYMag – April Bloomfield Thinks the Shredded Beef Tacos at Sueños Are Perfect

NYTimes – Tacos in the Morning? That’s the Routine in Austin

Written by doorr

March 10, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

