Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

Ice Cream

leave a comment »

Photo Courtesy of TheRollerPig‘s twitter

This morning Yesterday morning Three days ago (when I thought I was going to finish this post) my twitter, gmail, and google reader were all a-buzz with retweets of Ben & Jerry’s Free Cone Day (which for some reason I thought always fell on Earth Day but what do I know) and the unveiling of Ben & Jerry’s new 2010 ice cream flavors.

I love Ben & Jerry’s but it isn’t the type of ice cream I think to buy when I’m walking around on a hot day (hello fro-yo) or one that I like to serve my guests after dinner.  It’s more of a I’lleatthisaloneonmybed kind of ice cream (tmi?).  Except for Ben & Jerry’s cinnamon ice cream–which is appropriate at all times (happy or unhappy).  Read about the new flavors here.

This gelato is the best and makes for perfect little gifts.  Last Thanksgiving weekend I brought a pint of the coconut gelato over to my mom as a surprise for her, and most recently my roommate brought a pint over to her boyfriend’s apartment (just because).  I love the olive oil flavor.  Il Laboratorio del Gelato: 95 Orchard Street, New York NY 10002 (map); 212-343-9922

Whenever I have company, I love to serve fresh fruits (berries, baked plums, grapefruit slices, etc.) and vanilla ice cream.  My go-tos are Haagen Dazs and Adirondack.

You eat regular old ice cream, and seems good and creamy and delicious.  Then you eat Adirondack Creamery ice cream, and you realize this is a level of ice creamy purity you have never encountered before.  You check the ingredients and learn that maybe what makes a huge, striking difference is what this ice cream doesn’t have (lots of preservatives and things that sound scientific).  The ice cream is beautifully simple, with six flavors, and is only sold in New York, or places that are within easy delivery area of the Kingston, NY dairy where it’s made each day with milk from eight local farms.  My favorite flavors are the exotic Kulfi pistachio cardamom and the incredible mint chip.  Buy a pint at any of these shops:

Whole Foods, Garden of Eden, Fairway, Brooklyn: Greene Grape in Ft. Greene and Union Market in Park Slope

Visit Adirondack Creamery’s website here.

I feel that way about both of those ice creams.  Preach At First Bite.

Written by doorr

March 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

Posted in Food

Leave a Reply

