Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

“Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you what you are.”

with one comment

Photo (and recipe) courtesy of Gourmet: the Holy Grail of food photography

I won’t lie: I find myself identifying with parts of the New York Times’ article on food photography: People Who Photograph Food and Display the Pictures Online.  I don’t snap pictures of everything I prepare or eat, but I have certainly posted my fair share of food photographs on Facebook, Picasa, Shutterfly, Flickr, etc.   However, as I’m reading about these people who photograph their every meal I can’t help but feel slightly queasy.  When I’m not really hungry, or if the food is photographed in an unappetizing way, I am really turned off by both the meal and the photographer.  I find myself focusing on the photographer’s personal habits (like really personal habits).  A bad photograph might conjure up images of the person’s digestion, their skin, their hygiene.  It’s just too intimate-in an oversharing, gross way. 

Yet, when a meal is photographed beautifully, I want to make it myself.  I want to know more about the person’s lifestyle, their food preferences, their go-to recipes.  I suppose that’s what I’m trying to evoke when I post my own pictures of food in an album – a feeling of pride for my assembling/culinary skills and perhaps even admiration for my amateur photography skills.  That, and a memory.  At the end of the day, though, this is a weird phenomenon.  I’m half ashamed to participate in this fad but also don’t see myself stopping the food photography train in the near future.  Especially since half of this blog is made up of pictures of food!

Written by doorr

April 8, 2010 at 11:54 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. just wrote a post about this article as well. and i’m with you, i don’t want to be a part of the fad, but if i wasn’t, I’d have no blog. 🙂

    katie o.

    April 8, 2010 at 12:09 pm


Leave a Reply

