Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

¡Viva España!

leave a comment »

A little late, I know.

Congratulations Spain!  I had no idea I’d love watching the World Cup as much as I did, but now that it’s over, I am secretly breathing a sigh of relief.  As much fun as it was watching tournaments in the morning at the gym, or seeing bars and restaurants full of people at 8am cheering on their teams, it was a little much after one month.  Especially since I sort of lost interest after the U.S. and Brazil were eliminated from the tournament.  Until Brazil 2014, I leave you with a few tributes to Spain…

 

1. Barcelona and Modernity: Picasso, Gaudi, Miro, Dali hardcover coffee table book.  Art from the early 20th century is my favorite.  While I don’t know much about Gaudi, the other three Spanish artists capture Modernism perfectly in my mind.  2. Voluspa Maison Orangerie D’Azahar Candle – “Voluspa Maison Orangerie D’Azahar candle was inspired by the gorgeous “Orange Blossom” coast of Spain, Costa del Azahar.” 3. Anthropologie Casa Mila Bed – “Modeled after Spanish ironwork, this curved curlicue frame exhibits the sturdy craftsmanship of a European antique.” One of my best friends has had this bed since she was in high school.  She now shares it with her husband.  It’s a gorgeous piece.  4. Diptyque Luxurious Hand Balm – “Velvety Apricot from the groves of Cordoba, Spain. A silky, protective texture to nourish and repair dry skin especially hands.” Diptyque everything, right? 5. Andres Sarda Pollock Balconnet – “Uniquely Spanish, the piropo was presented to us (on the reverse of a 3×5 vocabulary index card) as an equal parts wolf-whistle-and-congratulations-you-look-so-stunning-I-would-apprentice-my-sons-to-you-catcall. Perhaps we didn’t truly understand what that meant until we opened Spanish designer Andres Sarda’s most recent shipment.”

Written by doorr

July 14, 2010 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

