Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

Watermelon Salads

leave a comment »

For about 2 minutes I was a subscriber to Food and Wine magazine.  It turns out the resident before me forgot to change her subscription and I received a sweet copy of the September issue in the mail.  I mean, I had to hand it over to the receptionist to forward on, but before I did I took it upstairs and looked it over.  Then I signed up for two trial issues because it was just that good.  FYI, I would have been a sure thing if the subscription wasn’t $19.99 a year.  I was hoping for $12.99, you know?  Anyway, I saw a wonderful watermelon, mint, and lime recipe that I’ll try to retype below.  I’ll also throw in the old faithful watermelon, feta, and mint salad recipe for kicks.  I can’t reiterate this enough, but in the summertime I am just all about simple, simple salads.  Easy enough for a boy (Hi David) to make himself.

Watermelon Salad with Mint and Lime

Editor’s note: “For a grown-up version, [Matt Neal] adds splashes of rum.”

Ingredients:

  1. 8 cups seedless watermelon chunks
  2. 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  3. Pinch of cayenne pepper
  4. 1/2 cup mint leaves, torn

Directions:

  1. In large bowl, toss the watermelon with the lime juice and cayenne.  Fold in the mint leaves, season with salt and serve.

Source: Food and Wine September 2010

Watermelon, Feta, and Mint

INGREDIENTS

    1. 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
    2. 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
    3. 2 teaspoons kosher salt
    4. 1 teaspoon Tabasco
    5. 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
    6. One 8-pound seedless watermelon, scooped into balls with a melon baller or cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks (10 cups), chilled
    7. 1/2 pound feta cheese, crumbled (2 cups)
    8. 1 1/4 cups pitted kalamata olives, coarsely chopped (optional)
    9. 1 small sweet onion, cut into 1/2-inch dice
    10. 1 cup coarsely chopped mint leaves

    DIRECTIONS

    1. In a large bowl, whisk the oil, lemon juice, salt, Tabasco and pepper. Add the watermelon, feta, olives and onion and toss gently. Garnish with the mint and serve.
    Source: Oprah.com
Written by doorr

August 16, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Posted in Food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

