Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

Community Supported Agriculture

with one comment

At one point this weekend I very seriously considered joining the CSA (community supported agriculture) system at the local farmer’s market.  I had grand dreams of fresh, organic, free*, seasonal fruits and vegetables, and ….DINNER parties; thick Greek yogurt, granola, and blueberries for breakfast; salads with herbs like dill and basil, and greens that I would never think to try (hello swiss chard).  But after some careful consideration and thorough due diligence, I realized that my stake in the CSA would come to an end on the 30th of October (instead of going through December as I’d originally thought), and so maybe paying $200 for two months of “exotic” vegetables (that I may not even have time to cook, let alone pick up every weekend) might be a little expensive.  But for a while I really loved the idea of the whole thing.  And I guess I can still go and buy produce from them every week, right?

Here’s a look at the local fruits and vegetables coming up in season:

September

basil, beans, beets, carrots, celery, celeriac, collards, cucumbers, eggplant, Italian dandelion, raspberries, kale, lettuce, melons, onions, parley, peppers, summer squash, Swiss chard, tomatoes, winter squash

October

boc choi, arugula, beets, broccoli, scallions, cabbage, napa cabbage, carrots, celeriac, celery, collards, kale, leeks, lettuce, mustard greens, onions, parsley, diakon radishes, chard, turnips, winter squash

I hope that without my membership to the CSA I am still committed to eating healthy and local this fall!  It looks so fun and YUM.

Photo Credit: Tartelette

Written by doorr

August 22, 2010 at 11:28 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve considered CSAs but when it comes down to it, I actually really enjoy going to the farmers markets, choosing my own produce, talking to the farmers and, well, just imbibing the whole atmosphere

    Bee

    August 23, 2010 at 6:09 am


Leave a Reply

