Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

First Day of School

with one comment

Well, tomorrow officially marks my first day of school.  I did my reading on Sunday and am reviewing some of it tonight, but while I take short breaks from reviewing I’m also thinking about my first day of school outfit (which I think I’ll save for Thursday since I only have 2 classes tomorrow and 4 classes on Thursday) and (of course) what I’ll eat for breakfast tomorrow.  The answer: one of these delicious egg recipes.  Depending on how much time I have, I’ll either make the “egg pizzas” using whole wheat bread and grated parmesan instead of english-muffins and mozzarella, or “eggs rothko” again using whole wheat bread instead of challah and good ole Cabot instead of Grafton.  It’s (hopefully) going to be a good day.  Click below to see the recipes printed here.

English-Muffin Egg Pizzas (Real Simple)

Serves 4  Hands-On Time: 05m  Total Time: 15m

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Make Hard-Cooked Eggs.
  2. Toast 8 English-muffin halves and place on a cookie sheet.
  3. Drizzle each with olive oil, then layer on tomato slices, hard-cooked egg slices (1/2 an egg each), and a little grated mozzarella. Sprinkle with oregano and kosher salt.
  4. Broil 5 minutes or until the cheese melts.

Eggs Rothko by Chef George Weld from egg in Williamsburg (NYMag)

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
2 thick slices of brioche or challah
2 large or extra-large eggs
1 cup good-quality Cheddar, like Grafton, grated

Instructions

Place oven rack in lowest position and preheat oven to broil. Melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a large skillet over medium heat until it begins to foam. Place brioche slices in the skillet, moving them around until well-buttered and browned. (1) Using a biscuit cutter or drinking glass, press a hole in the center of each bread slice and discard the cutout rounds. Divide the remaining tablespoon of butter between the 2 holes in the bread. (2) When butter begins to foam, crack an egg into each hole and cook until the egg whites set about halfway up the sides of the yolks. Flip the bread with a spatula and cook for another minute or so. (3) Remove bread from skillet and place onto a broiler pan. Spread grated cheese thoroughly over the bread, covering as much surface area as possible to prevent the bread from burning, and place pan under the broiler. Remove as soon as the cheese is melted. Serve with broiled tomatoes or a simply dressed green salad. (Published 2007)

Written by doorr

August 24, 2010 at 8:04 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I finished my first year of classes.   I cannot believe just a few months ago I wrote a post about the breakfast I would make for my first ….  I’m sad.  Here is a pretty bag and sunglasses to look at to make me feel better. Source: […]


Leave a Reply

