Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

How Could I Not Judge A (Cook)Book By Its Cover?

leave a comment »

I am not a chef, but I am a collector of cookbooks.  If I received one of these beauties for Christmas, I’d be the happiest girl.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love American cookbooks that focus on the basics and comfort foods (hello Barefoot Contessa), it’s just that these international cookbooks stroke my exotic bone and my desire to travel.  Read the amazing reviews of these books at Matt Bites.  Next big adventure for me?  Japan, I hope!

A taste of the reviews below:

Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume:  Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean by Silvena Rowe (2010 Hutchinson; photography by Jonathan Lovekin) I bet you thought I only craved Asian food at home.  Surprise!  I crave everything.  Silvena Rowe’s book is one of the few I have of this cuisine type.  There are a few reasons I like it.  First just reading the header notes and stories make me want to hop on a plane and go explore Turkey, Syria, Greece.  Second, though Italy is considered Mediterranean, the flavors are so different from what I might usually find here, that I love to break the ‘monotony’ (not said in a bad way!)  Third, the recipes are short and easy.   There are quite a few very good vegetarian dishes in here including falafel recipes with various ingredients, vegetarian kofte (like meatballs…with or without the meat), dips, and filled pastry dough.  I like this really for the vegetarian options it gives me, but also love the lamb.   There are a few desserts, but nothing that jumped out at me– I do not know enough about Eastern Mediterranean cuisine to know if that is generally the case (not big on sweets), but the small number of sweets doesn’t take away at all from the rest of the book which is much more than satisfying.

Written by doorr

December 1, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Posted in Food, gifts, Holidays, World

Leave a Reply

