Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

How To Have Fun This Summer: Step-by-Step Guide (Part I)

leave a comment »

I have officially completed my first year of graduate school and am finally ready to enjoy the summer.  The only problem is I seem to have forgotten how to do that.  Therefore, to get myself back into the summer fun zone, I am making a short checklist.  The first item on my list is to make sure I enjoy some wholesome, less-expensive-than-drinking-and-eating-out fun.  Enter: Summer Movies 2011.  Editor’s note: my movie fixation is actually not that wholesome because I entered a summer movie pool and so it’s still competitive, but that’s neither here nor there.

At the beginning of May, one of my good girlfriends forwarded me an invitation to participate in a summer movie pool.  To enter I had to pick the top six grossing films, the two lowest grossing films, and my prediction for the box office amount of the highest grossing film this summer.  I rounded up my savviest movie-going friends, grabbed some gummy candy and Coronas, and started watching previews.  The movies that made my top six:

My number one draft and pick for top grossing film of the summer is the final installment of the Harry Potter series, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II.  Harry Potter, baby, don’t steer me wrong, and show me $300,000,000 in U.S. theaters.  As Vanity Fair says: “The eighth and final chapter of the Potter saga will undoubtedly draw crowds that make the royal wedding look like a North Dakota tea party…”

The preview for Kung Fu Panda 2 has over 8 million views even though half of the preview is a staring contest.  ???  How will it not be a huge hit for the kids?  Sidenote: I watched the first Kung Fu Panda on TV this Memorial Day Weekend and thought it was so adorable and uplifting.

I honestly have not seen many previews for Super 8, but it’s gotten a lot of buzz and it’s produced by Steven Spielberg.  I’m hoping for word of mouth with this one.

Transformers 3: 30 million views on YouTube.  Teenagers these days.

Rated R movies tend to underperform when it comes to pulling in blockbuster movie figures, but I’m hoping The Hangover 2 will prove me wrong.

Say what you will, people, but my roommate is convinced Cowboys & Aliens is going to be the hit of the summer.  Also, isn’t Daniel Craig the most graceful action hero ever?

I’ve already seen Something Borrowed (skip it) and Bridesmaids (loved it).  Other movies that I am eager to see include: Midnight in Paris (the NYTimes gave it a glowing review), The Help, X-Men, and 30 Minutes or Less (I’m addicted to Aziz Ansari).

Some good links to get you up to speed on the anticipated summer movies: Vanity Fair and NYMag

Written by doorr

May 31, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Leave a Reply

