Arcane Fire

This is a blog.

Roasted Asparagus and Chanterelle Fricassée

leave a comment »

And on Wednesdays I post recipes.  First up – this delicious roasted asparagus and chanterelle mushrooms recipe I found on Roost, my new favorite food blog.  I will definitely be taking a trip (or multiple trips) to Fairway, Citerella, Agata & Valentina–all my old haunts for groceries–to pick up healthy foods and to bask in the fall produce.  Though, I think asparagus is a spring vegetable.  Maybe I should have gone with this aromatic roasted root vegetable medley

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it,
and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth
seeking the successive autumns.”
–   George Eliot

Roasted Asparagus and Chanterelle Fricassée

(adapted from Bon Appétit)

  • 1lb. medium asparagus, tough ends trimmed
  • olive oil
  • 3 TBS butter (I use goat’s milk butter)
  • 1 large shallot
  • 12 ounces fresh chanterelle mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 TBS minced fresh parsley
  • 1 TBS minced fresh tarragon
  • salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 475°F. Arrange asparagus on rimmed baking sheet. Drizzle oil over and turn to coat. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Roast until just tender, about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, melt butter in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add shallot; sauté 1 minute. Add mushrooms; sauté until beginning to brown, about 5 minutes. Cover; cook until mushrooms are tender, about 3 minutes. Add wine; cook uncovered until wine is absorbed, about 2 minutes. Stir in parsley and tarragon. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Divide asparagus among 4 plates. Top each serving with mushrooms.

Source: Roost (My new favorite blog)

Written by doorr

October 5, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

